Read this to better understand the Gary Lanier system and memorizing text verbatim!

Happy Holidays, all! :smile:
Though I may have only recently made an account, I’ve been using the site for a few years. You all have been invaluable to my journey as a memory sage! Specific special thanks to @Bateman and @Josh.

So, recently, I came upon the post made about Gary Lanier’s technique. I’ve read the paste bin file(http://pastebin.com/0874zvJp), but I’m afraid I’m having trouble understanding just exactly where everything needs to be. Is there a possibility anyone would be willing to draw a diagram or two in order to help me(and any others curious) understand the function and structure of the system?

EDIT REASON: forgot the “b” in “pastebin” and added a link to the post.

3 Likes

I only vaguely remember how it works, but I’ll take another look soon. Have you seen his posts and videos about it yet?

1 Like

Can anyone explain a bit more about this

I HAVE seen the videos, but I was NOT aware of those posts. About to do some binge reading. But I know I’ll still need those diagrams. I suppose I’m mainly a visual learner? :laughing:

1 Like

Sure!

Gary Lanier is a follower of Christ who composes music. He developed a specialized system for memorizing Holy Bible scriptures, and this technique can be used for effectively memorizing any passages of text word-for-word.

I don’t THINK that it’s very complicated, but I’m having trouble wrapping my head around it at the moment. :sweat: :laughing:

1 Like

Here is something Gary Lanier said that I found particularly helpful as far as examples and explanations go.

garylanier
Aug '13
“ Aazib:
Hi, Let’s say you want to memorize this: