Memory Palaces in Medical school

Hi all,

I have been using memory palaces extensively in medical school (in the USA) for the past 2.5 years. These techniques helped me obtain a >270 on USMLE step 1 and I was wanting to see if anybody else used these techniques in medical school and how they use them. I am also willing to answer any specific questions about what I did in med school to score 99th on boards. These techniques rock and can take the average person such as myself to extreme levels. Ask away!

15 Likes

Could you describe an example of how you create and review a memory journey?

1 Like

Did you only memorize terms like normal vocabulary would be palaced? Or have you memorized images as well? Have you had to memorize anything other than definitions and images, and if so, what was it and how did you go about it?

1 Like

Hi there !
I’m a 4th year med student , you can say that I like always to score high , my last exams for microbiology went well too and got the prize over the class! I’m using memory techniques since 2015 , its helped me alot through my acadamic life.
For study I prefer to use fictional kind of Romanian Rooms for different e.g bacteria , like lets gonna say “nocardia” I will imagine some place (may be a real place or fictional one) that is somehow related to the name of the organism , for “nocardia” we can take piece of it “…cardia” and relating it to some place rememberable related somehow with the word , such like an O.R with a patient having an open-heart surgery , and transcript all the data of the organism into that imaginary place , like if it was gram positive or negative you should have a fixed picture for that like “crossed two swords” for a gram positive and a “candle” for gram negative , and then their sources like soil or a NF , its all a repeated data , with practice you will have your special way to do it.