Memorizing Nonfiction Books - would love some feedback on potential method

Hi guys, I’m new to the forum and relatively new to mnemonics. I’ve thumbed through the forums - and by ‘thumbed through’, I mean ‘browsed each page of the ‘general memory chat’ and ‘memory systems & technique’ and read posts that seemed relevant to me, cuz I’m an overachiever’ - and a number of books trying to figure out the best way (for me) to achieve one of my primary goals, the memorization of facts in nonfiction books.

By memorization, I don’t mean quoting word-for-word, but grasping general concepts and, especially, memorizing specific facts, be they definitions, historical dates/discoveries, etc. I’m a science writer specializing in space/astrophysics, and there are a slew of things that I want to retain.

I’ve come up with a linked-based method of memorization, which I would love feedback on. I know that, ultimately, it comes down to what works for me (and I’ve already put it into practice), but I figure there may be some things you guys can point out. Apologies if this is familiar, I did slip it into my intro post.

The idea is to create a primary link between the chapters, which images I’ve color-coded blue. So A, B, C, etc. Then, each chapter has a run-through of ideas and points, a1, a2, a3, etc. I want to be able to find the points in the chapter, and be able to either ‘leaf’ through the chapter headings (like a table of contents) or run down the contents of the chapter. I kind of visualize it like those icicle Christmas lights, a single horizontal string (chapter headings) with vertical strings (chapter contents) hanging down.

As such, the ‘table of contents’ images go:

A-B-Aa, B-C-Ba, C-D-Ca

Aa is of course linked to Ab is linked to Ac, etc.