Help to Formally Update Mnemonic Classification and Nomenclature

Hi there,

I am a Neurology doctor based in London with a Masters in Medical Education. My research looks at mnemonic strategies and how they can be best incorporated into the undergraduate curriculum.

I would like to ask for your help to optimise how mnemonic techniques are classified and named. Hopefully, through this, we can develop a robust, updated mnemonic nomenclature and classification system. I believe this is very important to help further formal peer-reviewed mnemonic research. The last comprehensive classification system was proposed 40 years ago (Bellezza 1981).

Bellezza’s classification, compared to other mnemonic classification systems (Thompson, 1987; Oxford, 1990; Baddeley, 1999) is better because it separates mnemonics hierarchically into encoding and organisational mnemonics. Encoding mnemonics is the process by which info to learn is encoded to be more memorable, and organisational mnemonics refer to how that encoded information is structure. Normally encoded and organisation mnemonics are used concurrently but can be used in isolation if needed.

I’ve modified Bellezza’s to the flow chart below (added kinaesthetic mnemonics, moved link and story mnemonics from multiple-use to single-use).

If you could help answer the specific questions below this will really help (don’t have to answer all, some are fine :smiley:)

1. Do you agree with the classification system proposed? - If you do (or importantly don’t agree), please elaborate. Any recommendations would be great
  2. Do you agree with the naming (nomenclature) given to mnemonic subtypes? - If you do (or importantly don’t agree), please elaborate. Any recommendations would be great