What is the best approach to learn new vocabulary of a second language using a palace of memory?

Hi Folks,

I’m wondering if you can share with me your approach to learn new vocabulary of a second language using memory palaces :slight_smile:
Are you using the new word with the translation to your main language and the meaning in a single loci?
do you use more than one loci? do you store a story with the words? do you use fonetic associations? visualizations?

Thanks for your sharing, I’m very new in this realm and there are lots of different opinions in the web what confuses me a lot.

Cheers, Luis

1 Like

As much as I love memory palaces for rapid memorization of sequential data where recall speed is of secondary importance, vocabulary-learning is the efficient memorization of associative data where recall speed is of primary importance.

For this reason I’d strongly suggest instead: some flashcard system (active recall is essential; spaced repetition systems are best) along with trying to find linguistic reasons for the associations.

In this way I learned Spanish and Portuguese vocabulary very easily. Of course, grammar and conversation skills need to be trained in addition to whatever you do with vocabulary.

Buena suerte!

1 Like

Thanks @Daniel_360 for your input :wink:

Much Appreciated :wink:

1 Like

It’s not so much different opinions as it is different approaches. You say that you are new to this, so you probably don’t have much (maybe none at all) experience with memory palaces. Your “opinion” on the matter will thus be very different from mine.

Imagine there’s a store 10 minutes walking distance from where we are. Is it faster to take a car or just walk? Depends, if you don’t have a car then walking is definitely faster than buying a car first… or worse yet, having to get you drivers license. If I got my car parked right there, it’s obviously faster for me to take a car instead of walking for 10 minutes.