Visualization and its extents

Hello,

I have been been wondering. How strong is your ability to visualize objects. If there was a scale from 1-10 with reality being 10 and not seeing anything being 1 were would you place your visualization ability? Personally I would say 2 as I see only a foggy outline of shapes with little color.

I can visualise stronger sensations than I can see and feel. I actually get slight psychosis if I am too tired.

3 Likes

Really? That feels insane to me. The potential for exploitation feels limitless. What would be stopping you from mentally writing out a 5x5 digit multiplication problem and solving it?

I would say “10”!!

And in past,before I started practicing mnemonic techniques,my visualization used to irritate and frustrate me! Anything that I heard,read,even touched,my mind’s eye would automatically convert it into images! This would make things ‘vague and complex’ for me to understand,as I would have difficulty to manage and process multiple inputs…kinaesthetic,imagery,auditory,etc! I didn’t realize back then that imagery is my brain’s dominant and natural way to understand the external world!!

Nobody told me back then that I needed to capture ‘images’ in my mind by using things like Mind Palaces or Peg list! The problem with imagery/visualization for me is,images,though very vivid,are very fleeting and fast. I needed a way to capture those images(important ones!),so I could process them slowly. And MP solved this issue of fleeting and fast images for me!

However,not everyone is highly visual. And it is OK…You don’t actually need to be highly visual to use mnemonic techniques. Some people have “Aphantasia”. Still,they are able to use ‘mnemonic’ techniques. They use ‘concepts’ instead of visual images in their mind!

2 Likes

The same thing stopping me from calculating with a wall of numbers I can instantly generate. A 5x5 multiplication problem may not be so overwhelming though.