Tips for learning soroban

(Mike ) #1

Hi, I have always been quick with mental arithmetic by “normal” standards, but nothing like as impressive as those trained with the saroban.

I have been using the saroban for a short while (simple saroban plus I made my own physical abacus also) but I still need to read the answer at the moment from the device - it is not something I can simply picture

Does anyone have any tips on the correct way to learn saroban with the intention of eventually just calculating mentally please?

(selmo'i cu se nintadni) #2

I’m a beginner as well (I can usually do a 2 digit addition/subtraction problem mentally, but it’s really slow, far far slower than doing it on my soroban, and far far far slower than just using other mental math techniques), but I saw someone else on here say that they picture a rod with 8 or 9 on it as orange or red respectively, and I expanded that idea to give every value a color. I’m not sure yet if it will work long term, but in the short term it definitely seems to help in keeping an extra digit accurate. I cashier at a grocery store, so while I’m checking out orders, I try to picture the current subtotal on a soroban with the colors as well. My goal is to get it automatic so that I don’t need to think that 8 is orange or that 6 is green (don’t look for patterns, I chose the colors randomly), but just picture it that way. I’ve definitely made progress towards that, so we’ll see how it goes.

Of course I have tips.

Start here and do it exactly as stated:
http://totton.idirect.com/abacus/pages.htm
The reason is simple. Automate, automate, automate!

Funny thing. While checking my own process, I realize that I do something different compared to this website.
When adding numbers with a carry, I do the carry first and then work on the next row. Instead of “+7”, if the rod is full I change to “+10-3”.