Memory palace for vocabulary frustration

Hello everyone!

I’ve been reading materials on memory palaces for some time, but I still can’t get my head around how to use MP for memorizing vocabulary. All discussions are about how to create a MP with 10-20-100-200 locations, how to plan it, how to store MPs inside MPs etc.

But here is the problem. For example I have some intermediate knowledge of a language and now I want to improve my level. I have no idea how many words I will need to learn, what will be their first letters or topics. All right, i’m gonna make a MP for each letter in the alphabet, I will book 50-100 loci for in each MP. But then I will just start reading books in my target language and put all the unknown words into MP. Some MPs will be overcrowded some may remain empty. And what should I do? Create the second MP for every overcrowded letter?

What I’m looking for is some technique to endlessly expand capacity of a memory palace. What in my MP I will make a locus for each letter. But this locus well be some kind of a wall to which I will adhere endless amount of cards with words. Or let it be shelves or something like that. Has anybody tried that? Maybe there is a description of similar techniques?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

This doesn’t directly answer your question, but I’d strongly advise against using a memory palace for vocabulary, if your aim is to actually learn to understand/speak the language.

This is because you need to retrieve those words, both in the target language and in your dominant language, almost immediately. A memory palace simply doesn’t let you do that. It’s an amazing technique that I’ve used myself for e.g. memorizing binary digits, shopping lists, items from a conversation, etc., but it is simply not the right tool everything, especially vocabulary.