How would you memorize and/or learn economics?

Hey,

I’m actually a collage student in Germany and want to learn the subject economy in the most effective, permanent and funniest way possible.

How would you do this?

Thank you for your reading and I appreciate all answers.

2 Likes

I know next to nothing about Economics. To accommodate an entire subject like this, you would want a family of Memory Palaces. Perhaps nested palaces.

Many of the technique descriptions emphasize the use of visual images. People vary, some are more visual, some verbal. I use images but I hear a narrative description which holds most of the information. You need to spend some time thinking about what kinds of memories your brain likes to keep and use those.

Invest in learning the Major System for memorizing numbers. It is extremely useful. It does take some practice.

For abstractions one approach is to associate something concrete with the abstract idea. Another is to construct a narrative that describes the web of logical relations that define the idea. Sometimes this is done in Socratic style as a series of challenges and responses.

Here’s a thread that’s particularly rich in different approaches to memory palaces.

2 Likes

Keeping in mind the advice—and link—zvuv offered, I’d just encourage you to devote time to thoroughly planning your palace(s) and really figuring out what specific types of information (and, as much as possible, how much) you want to memorize. The more time you can spend preparing for the memorization work, the better. You’ll have a more logical approach that, I think, will make storing and recall that much easier.

You’ve mentioned wanting to learn the economy/economics, which is a huge topic. I don’t want to discourage your efforts in any way, but I can’t help feeling that you would benefit from narrowing your focus—even just a little bit. Unfortunately, I don’t know enough about the topic to even offer an example of what I mean…

Bob

1 Like