How Many Memory Palaces Have You Retained

I am new to the world of Memory Palaces and memory training. Using a PAO and loci system I have successfully attempted and retained 4 lists so far. The names of all NFL and NBA teams by conference and division, all MLB teams by league and division and all 50 US states.
I had a difficult time retaining a list of states and capitals as geography is least of my favorite subjects but I believe necessary for ones own knowledge. I admit, I also became fatigued by the idea of creating a memory palace for the states.
My difficulty lead to a question which I will ask everyone reading this. How many palaces have you retained? In other words, how many have you personally created and are confident that you will retain the information for life? I am curious if anyone has retained lists in the double or triple digits.

3 Likes

@mnemonicHec Hey. So, there’s almost no uniformity to this practice. I haven’t needed to utilize my memory Palace(s) yet but I do navigate them everyday so as to be certain that I can even teleport from one location to another. I have about 13 places now that I frequent constructed into a layered Palace. I’m considering building another space into it. But as long as you have your :anchor: planted, any information should be easy. But as I stated above; this practice is not very uniform. You remembered the 50 states with Loci. I remembered them with a story(SEAO).

3 Likes

I will reach my thousandth memory palace next week! :smiley:
On top of that I have around 150-200 peg lists, which all combined has a total of around 150.000 loci I think. I stopped counting my loci long ago haha.

Most have permanent knowledge. I wouldnt say it is for life but with regular maintenance I get pretty close to permanent for most of those :slight_smile:

13 Likes

Memory palaces not locations?