Constructing my first memory palace: Learning all the physics formulas for the Physics GRE

Alright, I’m a physics student who is good at applying and visualizing concepts, and decent at math. One thing I’m terrible at however, is memorizing equations. I can memorize facts very well, such as history, book quotes, etc. I’m currently studying for my Physics GRE’s this fall, and I need to memorize pretty much all the formulae in undergraduate physics. For my classes, we were often allowed to have a formula sheet, and as such I’ve been out of practice as far as remembering them. Normally, I’d just start with the basic formulas and derive the rest but since speed is so important for the GRE I’m not sure that’s possible with only 100 seconds per question average. The memory palace piques my interest as a useful device, so I’m embarking to create my own. Each “Room” will be a section of physics, and I plan on putting cues in them to remember the formulas.

Mechanics: Garage/game room
Electricity/magnetism: Home theater/technology room
Thermodynamics: Kitchen
Space/orbits/gravitation: Bedroom with mobile and telescope
Nuclear: Library?
Quantum: Basement lab

Does anyone have any advice for a memory novice? I’d describe myself as a high speed CPU running off of a 100Gb hard drive, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

I have not memorized formulas myself, but here is at least my idea of how I think it could be done:

First of all, as you probably know already, you will come quite a long way by just considering why it makes sense that certain terms are in a formula.
However, I guess that sometimes you may want to simply memorize the formula since it might be either to unintuitive or just very complex.