Advice on starting a memory club to benefit college students

I’m a psychology instructor at a community college with a background in the neurobiology of learning and memory. I would like to apply the study of memory in a manner that could positively affect my students. Specifically, I’m interested in starting a memory club where we discuss memory, the brain, and memory techniques. I’m starting with a general familiarity of memory techniques (more from an academic perspective than a practical one) and I’m curious to know if others have attempted a similar task - teaching memory techniques while learning at the same time?
My ideas are to have students practice evidence-based learning/memory techniques, which they can apply to their studies and to their lives in general. But, I’m also thinking that memory training for a specific goal might be worth while: for example, training for a memory competition (we would plan a trip and apply our practice, for example).
I’m new to this, so any advise, recommendations, or insights would be appreciated.

6 Likes

Hi Nathen,

I highly recommend you to start this. :slight_smile:
When I was still a student, I ran such a memory club at the universities I attend with a few other students, however never got to do something since I am researcher / educator.

Earlier this year I was the keynote speaker for Phi Theta Kappas main event (staged online) and got to introduce a few thousand community college students to mnemonics and found it quite interesting to discuss the applicability of mnemonics with some of them as their student experience differs quite a bit of what I see as a students in the classes I teach at my university.

If you think my experience is any helpful, I am happy to chat sometime over Zoom or such.

All the best
Boris

3 Likes