Thoughts on 'The Thinking Method?'

I’ve been listening and thoroughly enjoying LanguageTransfer’s podcasts on learning a language (in particular ‘Complete Spanish’ and ‘Intro to Italian’) & I have found it quite a refereshing take on learning something I used to take in high school.

Something the creator of the project, Mihalis Eleftheriou, has done is make a free book online that details the method he uses in his courses called ‘The Thinking Method.’ In my brief and ostensible readings of the topic, it seems interesting, but has anyone given it a read themselves? And if so, what did you think of it?

2 Likes

Thanks @lmrobin, I hadn’t heard of these language courses. I read through the course development manual that he shared and as a fellow course developer, I recognize that he has put a tremendous amount of thought into how the material is structured. I also found that my system of training was tending towards that style of thinking first, and application second.

What was very interesting to me, in view of those people who are trying to short-cut their language learning with a mnemonic system, is Eleftheriou’s view on that. He feels that engaging a system that relies on artificial memory before understanding the way the language is used to express thoughts is premature. I have to agree.

Although he doesn’t rule out the later use of mnemonics, I can see where a palace structured to hold a language would be based on concepts of similar root words and some rules of grammar. I would have thought that all languages could use the same type of palace design but he put that one out of commission quickly except for related Latin languages or other dialects.