Old question: long term memory?

While I am still fairly new to mnemonics, I’ve started to collect a few lengthy memory palaces/journeys. I’m still painfully slow encoding, but otherwise the process is going pretty well. I am very excited by the idea that I can remember things that are interesting to me, whether it is just a few useful facts, or a very long list. Most of the things I want to memorize are intended for long term storage. Lifetime storage. I don’t want to spend my life relying entirely on Google and written notes for everything.

Based on Google searches regarding long-term memory and mnemonics, forum posts, and blogs, I am unsure how “long term” my journeys will be. Opinions vary widely.

Someone in a reply to an artofmemory post suggested spending 15 minutes a day reviewing a random selection of your palaces very quickly, like 1 image per second. That doesn’t sound too painful, I find that suggestion to be appealing. Some suggest using Anki, which seems a little odious to me simply because I don’t really want to type out hundreds or thousands of loci, and using Anki would make it all feel like a tedious chore. Others suggest the “use it or lose” it theory. After doing initial (necessary) reviews of your journey, if you stop reviewing, you will eventually forget unless you actually use the memories in real-life applications.

For those of you who have been using memory palaces with mnemonics for years, what have you experienced? Do the memories you want to retain forever stick in your head, or do they fade? I am asking partly because I am seeking advice on retaining long term memories, and partly because I’d just like to know how it has worked out for those who have been doing this for years.

Thanks,
boulderKC

If you review something everyday and you then stop reviewing it for months you are more likely to forget it than if you had reviewed it a few times in the fashion of 1st day 7th day 15th day 30th day.