Memorizing a Card Stack

I do magic and for some tricks I need to memorize a certain stack/deck order (before the trick) and use that to my advantage. I’m a bit new to mnemonics and so I was wondering how I would even go about memorizing the card value and suit, and pair it with a number (telling me which position in the deck it is).

If you could give me some advice and/or resources, that’d be really helpful!

3 Likes

@justintime1, I’ve collected a number of techniques for playing cards and other techniques for magicians but haven’t made them available unless I can be certain the person is a working magician. Why don’t you private message me with the stack type you are using. I’ll be glad to help if I can.

4 Likes

Thanks!

1 Like

In addition to whatever you’re going to learn there, a quick way to memorize the colors in a deck of cards is mentioned in the blog post below. It doesn’t take long to learn, and it sets the foundation for the next step (suits and values).

The free ebook shows how to add the suits and values. The ebook is short and provides quick overviews to the main techniques like the major system and memory palaces.

You might also be interested in this section: #magic-tricks

4 Likes

Thanks so much Josh! This could be useful to add to my arsenal :slight_smile: Also my bad, I forgot to choose the magic trick topic

2 Likes

No need to remember to add tags — there are too many for people to keep track of unless they have been posting here for a while. :slight_smile:

I sometimes add them to posts so that it’s easier for people to find things.

2 Likes

1 Like

Justin,