Memorize a professional book

I’m looking for a way to memorize the headings, sub headings and the subtle details of a textbook I’m studying for a professional exams…

I would like to store them in my long-term memory as they are vital for the success of my career.

There are 6 parts of the book

( unit IA part 1&2)

(unit IB part 1&2)

(unit IC part 1&2)

I have attached screenshots of the contents for the first part of Unit IA (it has 5 topics- IA1 to IA5) to show how it is structured.

Please kindly advise… Thank you very much for your help!
Screenshot_20190223-083022|230x500

(Silvio B.) #2

Are you familiar with the memory palace technique?
If not, you might want to take a look at this:
https://artofmemory.com/wiki/How_to_Build_a_Memory_Palace

For the information you described I would definitely use a memory palace. It basically works in the same way as I memorize laws, here’s how I do it:
For the titles, subtitles etc. I find an image that represents that level (so I can have a structure and don’t confuse titles with the detail information).
For me when I memorize laws the main-titles are always represented by a Dr. Pepper can (that doesn’t necessarily have to make sense to you, but it makes sense in german (sort of) since a doctorate is called a Doktortitel)
grafik
then I just add the keyword of the actual title.

So for example:
On the first location of the memory palace, I’d have a giant Dr. Pepper, a heart (image for “Health”) and someone with a yellow safety vest (image for Safety). You could make it more detailed (maybe add a “manager”), but for me that would be enough to remember the title “Principles of Health and Safety Management” and that it’s a main title. Then on the next location of the memory palace, the first subtitle is placed (with the image for the subtitle level and the keywords) etc.

Example:
Location 1: Main title (image for level of title and image for keyword)
Location 2: subtitle 1 (image for level of title and image for keyword