Lists in chemistry

Hello! What memory systems do you use to learn lists such as this one?

I have about 4 months before my exam, so do you think it’s feasible for me to get comfortable enough learning material in a new way? I have very little experience
in using memory systems (I use the peg method infrequently for small things).I’m sorry if this question is common, but I can’t really research much at this time. Thanks!

1 Like

If the letters appear like that a lot, you could use a Alphabet Peg list for the letters and an extra image for the digit, for the physical state and color, more pictures. Just visualize an story with each relevant peace of information, the storage within a mental location. Techniques: linking system, method of loci, pegging systems.

2 Likes

My first advice would be to check what will be on the exam so you don’t accidentally memorize too much.

For the specific example here, I would try to understand why the information is true as much as possible, because then you don’t need any memory methods. For example ClFx is always a colourless gas, except for x = 5 when the molecule is bigger so it becomes a liquid. Iodine compounds are never gasses except for IF5 and IF7.

For anything that is just too big, then you can use standard systems of memory palaces (ordered data) and spaced repetition (associative data) as described on here. Maybe someone has tried something similar and can tell you what worked or didn’t work.

6 Likes

Hey, I concur with the point that we first need to identify what needs to be memorised and more importantly why.
While memory palaces are great, I often find it difficult to maintain and feel it’s more long term solution.

For an exam in next 4-8 months, won’t a pegged list system be better? But the problem here is that we will quickly have too many pegged lists of things. Then the challenge becomes how to associate a list to a topic?

4 Likes