Improve my memory for mental math

Hello,

I am a scientist, always been interested in math and science, but I have never been so interested in memorizing things just for fun, so not very experienced in the art of memory (yet).

I would like to improve my mental calculation skills. The goal here is not to become a human computer, cheapest smartphone easily beats faster human calculators in terms of speed, but rather to help me in my personal and professional life.

I started some training in basic arithmetic, now it is only a matter of practice to become better and faster. However, to go further and to be faster, I would like to memorize more facts. For example, division, square roots or more complex operations (logarithms, trigonometry, …) are quite heavy on brain, so memorizing useful facts would help (for example logarithms of prime numbers).

I am looking for the best strategy to do so.

Not very experienced in the art of memory yet, but my basic analysis is that I could use the following options :

1. Use synesthesia à I do not seem to have any kind of synesthesia that could help me here. Maybe I am wrong and maybe I can discover something hidden in my brain that could help, I just do not know how to do this.
  2. Use a mnemonic system, eg. major system or POA, to remember numbers (results) à I tried major system recently to remember the first digits of pi.
  3. Use a memory palace or other mind construction à I do not have any experience in this, I do not know if that would be well suited to memorize operation results. I do not seem to be especially good in space orientation so not sure this would work on me.

The goal here would be memorize tables as attached.
If you give me N (first column), I would like to be able to give any corresponding result quickly (for example, square root of N, column 5). I would also like to be able to easily insert columns (operations) and rows (numbers) without breaking my mind constructions.