How useful is this in praction ?

(Jar Procházka) #1

Hey everyone,
so this might be a stupid post, because I am completely new to this. I got introduced to this by Moonwalking With Einstein, and I would be dedicaded enough to learn the techniques. However, I would like to use it for practical stuff, school, books, programming etc…So I wonder, how useful is it for that stuff ? Anyone here actually using it in college for example and suceeding, or are the techniques only useful regarding the tournament disciplines ?
Thanks, I ll appreacite all answers :).

Sure, you can for example use it to memorize the content of textbooks for exams, similar to what is posted here:

Use it to learn speeches (presentations) so that you don’t have to rely on notes and you can focus more on the audience.

Could you give somewhat more precise examples of what exactly you want to use it for? Here’s a video that explains how to memorize all the US presidents… not sure if that is what you mean, but just to give you an idea:

I have found it really useful, both for me and my kids. I end up having to learn quite a bit of new info at work and have found it useful to remember some of the basics. My kids (10 yrs old) have used it for general knowledge - they have memorized the US states in alphabetical order - but more recently it has proven really helpful for some last minute stuff that came up.

We are in the process of building a massive memory palace (thanks to Gavino and some others for the inspiration) to put large amounts of general knowledge, but at this stage we have a bunch of empty memory palaces. My daughter has twice in the past couple of weeks committed a series of things to memory using those empty palaces for tests and presentations that were coming up. My son used it to help memorize a speech he is doing for school.