How to retain most from reading a book ? Practical Tips?

Hello,

I have been a silent member of the forum for some years but I am starting a conversation under less than ideal circumstances in these extraordinary times. I am a researcher by living an have to read a lot of content and information for professional reasons but right now after living almost three months under a very stringent lockdown I don’t seem to have the motivation to read and retain from non-fiction books which is critical for my professional duties. Also, this inability is exacerbating a depression which I have been battling since the past year.

Any practical suggestions on how I can find the motivation to read and retain significant amount of information and concepts from reasonably complex material, will be greatly helpful.

6 Likes

One thing that helps me deal with technical information when I’m having trouble focusing is to explain it to an imaginary person.

I pretend that my goal is to help someone else (me from a 3rd person perspective) understand it, so I’ll explain the code or concept step by step. If that doesn’t work, I’ll write things down as I explain them. It often helps get my brain back on track.

6 Likes

Probably not something you want to read, because I am sure you know, but I’m not sure there’s much you can do to motivate yourself to read, other than knowing that the information you gather from whatever you’re reading will ultimately benefit you in the long run. I’ve experienced extended bouts of depression, and find that what got me out of it the most was a disciplined routine. I find that the general idea that you should perform a task for atleast fifteen minutes before stopping to be a pretty good one.

In regard to information retention: