How to practice the Major system?

I’m new to memory techniques, but I’m determined to learn the major system. I have already set up images for 00-99, and it’s a mix of people and objects. I just wanna ask for efficient ways of practicing so I could get used to all the images. Thanks, everyone.

1 Like

Welcome to the site! :slight_smile:

You can use this random number generator to practice each image and find out which ones you tend to forget. It prints out the numbers from 00 to 99 only once in each group to make sure that you practice all of them.

2 Likes

Thank you so much. Also, does it matter that I’m using persons and objects. Should I just stick to either one?

You might want a list of people and objects. I rarely use my “Major people” list, but when I do, it’s been helpful. If you ever need to distinguish number groups from one another—for example, if you’re memorizing pi in groups of six numbers, or you’re showing your friends how you can memorize all of their drivers license numbers—then it can be helpful to start each new group of numbers with a person instead of an object. Sometimes, a person just works better in a situation than an object does. (My usual 14 association is a Valentine’s Day heart. But sometimes it works better to have 14 represented by my person for that number, actress Debbie Reynolds.)

Don’t be afraid to make adjustments to your Major associations as you go along, though. Just because you’ve established 0-99 doesn’t mean you have to stick with those images if you find they don’t work well for you. I’ve been at this a couple of years, and I’m still not happy with my “compromise” images for 7 and 26.

Bob

4 Likes

If it’s a 2-digit system where each 2-digit number gets just one image (not a PAO System), then it doesn’t matter. You can mix the images however you want. You might also be interested the how to memorize numbers video.