How do you track your loci?

I have heard of three main ways to track and remember imagery for a memory palace:
a) Don’t (just remember them)
b) Use a memory journal
c) Use an excel spreadsheet

For b) and c), what specific information do you keep track of? What have you found works for long term?

For me, I draw out the memory palace in my memory journal, and then I write down the spot number, specific location (e.g. chair by kitchen), keywords of what I want to encode, and then an explanation of the scene that unfolds.

However, this feels like a lot of work to do for each and I start to dread doing it. I would like to just give keywords and forgoe the scene/association part but I feel like I won’t remember what happens looking back.

2 Likes

Hi Brennan,
I’m just a newbie to the Art of Memory.
Like you, I’ve started a journal in which I map my memory palaces and all the pegs within. The actual items I place on the pegs are kept as a list alongside the map. This takes a while to do but I’m sure it enhances the memory process.
As for keeping items in an excel spreadsheet, I can see the benefit of this but it is just another step that takes time. One of the advantages of doing so (actually I’d use a Google Sheet) is that it would be easy to identify potential duplicate Actions that may sneak into a large memory palace.
Best wishes,
Mark

I use a Google spreadsheet. I am building 10 palaces for each discipline and try to create two per week.

I use either

• excel with the columns:
    • keyword, palace, room, station, imagery
  • a text file (like markdown) with a numbered list
  • a paper journal where I sketch the palaces (for the bigger long term projects)

Because I almost always use 10 loci per room (to start with), and I always go through palaces in the same order. I often just need a numbered list an the name of the palace. All the other info is inferred.