General thoughts / ideas / advise please

I am seeking advise / ideas / thoughts on how I should go about memorizing this.

I am studying for the Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE), and plan on taking the exam MCSA 70-740. My notes so far: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1IiWAmpM6NjNg5veaKQM6LK4E29QTCMbYmT5LeOpc6tc/edit#gid=0

So far I have made the column “To memorize” (Blank color) as a more compact form of what to memorize and plan on making them into flash cards. The problem as I see it is that the information will be in a disorganized manner, not connected to anything, and forgotten. I want to have the information in a organized manner which I can review and see the “connection” between things.

1 Like

I think the notes document is private at the moment.

It should be fixed now, sorry about that.

So far I’ve been trying to memorize it by rote but I have a terrible memory so it’s very slow going and it’s not organized for reviewing later.

As a half-asleep amateur:

My first thought is creating a new Memory Palace for this information. Things you want directly connected are in the same room. Then in viewing the room, you review the things connected immediately and together.

You have to treat the rooms as potentially non-linear, though. It’s easy to fall into the trap of just running the sequence of a route around the room - that makes it exactly the same as the Journey Method. The advantage of a room is that you can look between two things in it out of sequence, and potentially add something that connects one to the other. The overview of the room can add to your understanding as you connect the ideas of what you “see” as you think in that “space”.

Connecting things between rooms would rely on a story link, I think. Something happens to the object that leads to the object in another room.