General discussion of mental maths

[Webmaster’s note: the original post was removed, but the mental math conversation continues below.]

I first want to say that I am a total amateur when it comes to mental math, but I have at least read the book. And from what I understand the procedures/methods are really quite simple and wouldn’t require any mnemonics to remember.

Perhaps, day of the week calculation can benefit from mnemonics, but only in the form of actually remembering numbers so it isn’t anything directly related to the actual method.

Hi,

I am working through the trachtenberg system at the moment and I am quite impressed with the speed at which I can multiply numbers. I have only got to the point of multiplying by 11, 12 and 6 but it is lightening fast.

I use the major system to remember my result as the answer is calculated backwards, then I just work through the images in reverse to say the answer,

for example is someone asked me to multiply 453764523 X 11 (they would need to write it down of course) I could give them the answer in about 40 seconds, the answer actually does not fit on the readout of my calculator. If I am ‘allowed’ to write the answer down beneath the sum I can give the answer almost immediately(in the time it takes to write it)

Once I complete learning the system I am hoping that I can ask someone for a long number, say a 5 digit number, then ask somone else for another 5 digit number. Then ask them to open their phone and calculate the answer, in the meantime I can write the answer on a piece of paper before they even have it calculated (it would take them a while to open up their caclulator on their phone etc)

regards,

Sea

Arthur Benjamin uses the Anchor Method most:
http://myreckonings.com/wordpress/2008/04/15/lightning-calculators-ii-the-methods/

Just practise this a bit. You will quickly get the hang of it.
The book discribes the techniques very well, so just practise after each chapter.