Building a PAO system from scratch: Major System vs Dominic System

I’m new to the world of mnemonics and want to build a PAO system but have had a difficult time getting started. For what it’s worth, my intended use of the system in tandem with a memory palace (at least initially) is for pi memorization. It seems that the Major System gets most of the attention but the Dominic System feels more natural to me and leaves less room for confusion on recall as a beginner. Does anyone here have any feedback on one system versus the other before I start going down one of the paths?

Regardless of the system I end up using, the next step is creating the content of the PAO and that is where I’ve come screeching to a halt. My trouble has been creating sufficiently different and identifiable people and actions for a 0-99 list and have those associations be connected strongly enough to only that one person. I’ve found a few PAO lists online but quickly realized that I can’t rely on other people’s lists because I don’t have the same associations and often times, don’t know the individuals. Therefore, building a system from scratch is the only practical way to go in order for it to be effective.

When attempting to build my own PAO, I naturally want to give an action and object that I would immediately associate together. So let’s say Albert Einsten - writing - chalkboard. This would preclude me from using an author’s name elsewhere in my list because the action of writing would be easily confused unless of course the author has some other very obvious action. How do some of you deal with this type of obstacle? Are there helpful resources that you’ve found online that you could suggest?

1 Like

If Dominic feels more natural to you, go that route.