Benefits from this training in other parts of life

Hi All

I’m new to memory training and this forum and software look quite amazing and professional.

Can anybody tell me how this training has benefitted them in their career/personal life?

I work as a lawyer and my goal is not to necessarily memorize huge amounts of data but to improve my brain and become as smart/intelligent that I am capable of.

With that goal in mind, do you guys think it would be worthwhile for me to go through this training or to use my energy on something else?

Thanks a lot in advance!

(Josh Cohen) #2

I think it’s worthwhile to learn memory techniques, even if you aren’t going to memorize legal information. Example: I feel like it has improved my creativity because of a faster ability to make associations between ideas.

That is its primary purpose though. Obviously, your memory also works without memory techniques and a lot of top athletes make the point that they are as likely to forget where they left their keys as non-mnemonists are.

Memory and intelligence is not the same thing. What do you consider “intelligence” in this context? Speaking more than two languages? Problem solving?

Just off the top of my head, here are some things that come to mind:

1. Foreign languages. This is one major area of application of mnemonic techniques, and I can say its influence on my own life has been both profound and widespread. Foreign languages open doors for you that you can’t imaging beforehand.

2. Being able to remember people’s names is a really useful skill for almost anyone in any profession. And also to remember other information about clients and other important people in your life.

3. This is harder to explain, but practice with mnemonic techniques enhances your powers of imagination and the vividness of life. You are constantly looking for patterns and associations.

(Simon Luisi) #5

Hct87, I would recommend you use your energy on something else.