Basic Knowledge

Hello,
I’m new user on this forum and I’m so glad that I could get here :slight_smile:

So, im studying mnemotechnics for 3 months and this is very interetsting.
One of the first though that I had was learn things from past years in school, when I don’t know HOW I can learning and now I remember very low.
I like to gain a new information, such a basic knowledge about world, geography, history, history of music, literature, poetry, maths and others, but now Im on the college and I have contact with very narrow part of knowledge.

So, meybe you know places on the internet, forums or books deal about general knowledge and themes that could I learn?

In general, for gaining wide knowledge, I prefer books over internet articles.
So because of that I would search for books.
I buy a lot of them second hand, so it won’t cost too much.
Amazon has great searching tools.

“The Selfish Gene” by Richard Dawkins, is an incredible book. It goes over subtle and usually misunderstood themes about evolution by natural selection in language that the layman can easily absorb. If this is a topic you have not learned about thoroughly, this book will give you life-enriching understanding. The question of “why am I here” (in a physical, not teleological sense) is one of the only Great Questions that has ever been answered with consensus.

I might have exactly what you are looking for. Try ‘An Incomplete Education’ by Judy Jones & William Wilson.

You might also like Barcharts and Sparkcharts, which combined with some memory technics could realy help you.

I’d go for: The Code Book by Simon Singh which is one of the best books in the field of understandable cryptography (not relevant but amazingly interesting)