Am I wasting my time?

This may seem to be an odd question to ask on here. But I am hoping to get people’s perspectives on here who have used memory palaces and mnemonics to learn languages. I have been studying a language for 6 months now but about a month ago I discovered the wonders that mnemonics and memory palaces can do. After reading some books I decided to start a project of adding every vocabulary word in my flashcards into memory palaces with different mnemonics to memorize the words. This, without a doubt, helps but I am finding it to be extremely time-consuming. It takes me an hour to add mnemonics for maybe 20 or 30 flashcards. Is this about the same amount of time it takes for you all to make mnemonics for vocabulary words? And the other question and the most important one is, how useful do you think this is really? I tried learning a very difficult language a few years ago and failed because I couldn’t learn enough vocabulary. Do you think this is really much more of an improvement for memorizing vocabulary when compared to just writing the words down? I’d like to hear what people think about mnemonics and their effectiveness with vocabulary long term specifically.

2 Likes

Mnemonics is the best way to learn a new language.

I also advise you to read about Dominic O’Brien’s method for learning languages. He appeals to me the most.

4 Likes

Please elaborate more on this point, on what you’re doing. At least for me, depending on the language, it shouldn’t take too much time.
I think your problem maybe on your algorithm of memorization or your psychology to the gist itself. Maybe you want super duper vivid striking complex images, as that’s one of the most given unnecessary advises.

There are so many ways to implement mnemonics that it could be paralyzing if you’re not seriously committed.

Summary of my methods:

Method 1 - Based on resource

Summary