Advice request from "words" memorizers, to memorize mind maps/keywords! PEGs/PAO system for words, does it worth the effort?

Hello,
The post is in three sections: general view, main_problem and a suggestion for it.

General view:
I am a student trying to perform better at college. Usually grasping a concept is not a problem, actually, relatively I might perform above average in problem-solving.
But when it comes to a problem/question that requires (memorized) systematic multi-steps - or in general many details to memorize - I usually become very slow or not able to recall these details that I fail the year.
One way I hope to deal with that is after studying each chapter, I create a summary and from which I create a mind map that contains important (keywords) and focusing on memorizing these.
That’s why I became interested in memory techniques that help in memorizing words.
I think using the linking method might be more effective than memory palace for me, because I will probably need to memorize a lot of facts.
I hope I have about six months period to train myself on memorizing words.

Main problem:
(Very long time at encoding words)
I tried memorizing pairs of random generated words using the linking method for eight time each time is 30 minute.
On average I succeed in memorizing 25 pairs with accuracy of 90% and retrieval time of one second.
Most of the time is consumed in “finding” a person/object that is related to the word I try to memorzie -specially if it is an abstract word- and then linking these objects/persons together in an “image”/very short story in my mind.

Ideas/Suggestions:
Assuming each word is already linked to an object/person in mind. Then when memorizing words, I will only make the linking between persons/objects, I will save time
that is used in “finding” and object/person for each word, it will be already memorized in my mind. It is just like PEGs/Dominic System/PAO system but for words not numbers.