Using mnemonics to write software 'in my head'

I love being a Software Engineer but I hate the physical effects of sitting in front of a computer for extended periods. I’m interested in the idea of using mnemonics to memorize code and therefore be able to memorize the source code that i’m modifying, then walk away from the computer and then edit the memory palace i’ve created and then return to the computer and just dump those edits into the machine all in one go.

Is this a realistically attainable goal? Is it much more challenging to actively modify a memory palace than to simply create one from pre-existing information? I have very little experience with mnemonics beyond reading most of Moonwalking with Einstein and trying out a couple of memory palace examples that the book walks you through.

I’d love to be able to write code in my head while I go for a walk instead of being so sedentary. Also I imagine this would solve the problem of looking at my own code months later and it seeming like someone else wrote it.

2 Likes

I have done things like this with paper. I suppose this is the old way. First some kind of diagram of inputs, algorithms, etc., then the code, still in paper. Even debug as much as possible before sitting in front of the computer going through the process in different scenarios. In my little experience, this produces a much cleaner code than to rush to begin typing without having the complete thing ready, but you need to know perfectly the language, the objects, etc.

I am sure I would NOT be able to do this for something complex without the help of paper and write the value of the variables in each moment, etc.

2 Likes

I feel as though I don’t really comprehend the physical effects of sitting in front of a computer for extended periods since I have done this for approximately half my life now. I have had periods of 48 hours straight in-front of a computer pretty much.

It’s doable but difficult.