Using Memory Palaces for Challenging Material

Hi!

I spend much of my spare time studying a range of different topics, and only recently discovered the good old memory palace (believe it or not!).

So far i’ve had some success with it, but at the same time I find it really difficult converting some stuff, and find myself staring at my notes for several hours before I come up with a way to translate my information into a memorable link in my memory palace journey. I hoped to get some perspective from anyone that has experience with memory palaces, and would love to hear how you may deal with the challenge!

I’m currently studying Swedish massage, so for this post i’ll focus on that. First off, I’ll give an example of when I have found success.

For the most part when using memory palace, I find myself replacing parts of sentences with similar words, for example:

To remember one of the techniques used for the massage technique Effleurage, my note is “follow the curves of the body, increasing pressure towards the heart without dragging the skin”. The loci for this is in my bathroom, where a singer I like named Effje De Visser (Effleurage) is sitting on the toilet squeezing a human heart. She’s caressing its curves, then looks up at me and says “it feels like dragon skin.” - Relatively straight forward to convert, as the origin material is comprehensible.

However, my challenge is with more complicated material. For part of the course i’m required to learn anatomy, and this is where i get stuck. I’m finding some of the terminology hard to translate, and therefore I get really stuck!

I’m trying to memorise the bone structure. Naturally, as per the norm, i’ve categorised the bones into their respective types (irregular, sesamoid, vertebral). If we take the irregular bones, i need to put some information in my memory palace that explains the function, the component parts, and terminology.

Bullet points to include: