Usage of memory-palace and other questions

Hello community,

first of it’s having awesome to have such an online community full with people interested in the art of memory. I read a book about mnemo technqiues and I am now hooked… However as a beginner I have some general questions and oberservations where I coud need a bit the guidance from more experienced “students” of memory.

Questions:

1. I feel like I don’t know what I have memorized! I only know I have some kind of information saved in my brain, but what it looks like and what it is … I don’t know it. I first must walk through my loci path and think about all the pictures and put them togehter… Then I “know” what I have learned. After saying my quote I “forget” it again and I would need to walk again through my loci path to know what I have learned. So its feels like I use my memory like a book. I have to activly read it to know whats written. While with my “normal” memory, I just know stuff.

2.) When I do my repetitions do keep the stuff in my head for a long time, should I picture the pictures or try to say the words that they mean? Do I visualize the pictures again or do I try to say their meaning and forget about the pictures with time?

3.) Let’s say you read 1 book a week for 52 books a week and want to keep the key things with you. So you proabably need for 1 book around 50-100 loci. If you do that for 10 years… you will need a lot of loci. Is this actually doable? And do you “remeber” the stuff then (see question 1) or do you just have endless pictures in your head and don’t “know” anything …

4.) In a person-action-object system, is it good when you imagine something thats already connected? For example Mike Tyson is immeditaly pictured with boxing gloves and boxing.