The Problem Of Modern Education: A Personal Opinion

I am no expert at the education field, but I am lucid enough to point some flaws in relation to some education systems so I am opening the discussion about the topic. My critique is in relation to constructivism. If I am not wrong, it is basically the concept of trying to involve the students in the process of education; at least according what I heard about an “intellectual” called Paulo Freire, like educating them based on their reality and social background, making them to learn with themselves and through a teacher student relation. There must be more people other than Paulo Freire who introduced that thing to the field of education, and I suppose it has been spread throughout the education systems of many countries in a very subtle way, and I think that thing is totally pervasive. That’s because that progressist idea flexibilizes the interaction between teacher and student, not only taking away the teachers authority (we can notice the today’s crisis of authority in the West by the part of teachers), but it also takes away the power of the professor to teach. They are the people who most (or at least in principle) have to teach and should be listened to, but basically what that method does is trying to make students to teach themselves by themselves, or at least through an interaction between teacher and student in a dynamic process. It is like putting several random guetto kids without much perspective in live to learn about sex by themselves through textbooks and read philosophical texts expecting them to become as good as Plato or become transsexuals (I would make a joke with learning Arabic and exploding things, but maybe Josh wouldn’t like it, so I made a more light joke). That is the wrong point. This method wants people to become proficient in something without having to recur to the guidance or even the auxiliation of a teacher on HOW TO STUDY. That is why Chinese people are the best in academical fie