Substitute teacher looking for quick, fun things to teach kids

Hello. I am a substitute teacher. Some days the teacher does not leave adequate lesson plans to fill the entire class period, so I have them memorize something, and they love it! Things I have done in the past (gleaned from my own ideas, Nelson Dellis’ book and others, and this forum):

• Stephen Covey‘s seven habits- car memory palace
  • 10 highest mountain peaks- outdoor pool area memory palace
  • 10 most populous countries-body memory palace
  • Countries of the world

These are mainly geography related, but I would like To have something related to the other subjects I sub in, so am looking for ideas of things to memorize in middle school and high school English/language arts classes. Also, science…I can do the periodic table, but any other ideas are welcome!

5 Likes

English: Shakespeare play titles (in order written), classic novel titles and authors (in order written)

Science: internal human organs

Math: digits of pi (first 10-20 or so). For this, you could use a number shape system. Not that they couldn’t learn Dominic or Major system, but that’s a bit much to squeeze into a day’s lesson.

How to memorize passwords (use fake ones, obviously!)

1 Like

This is one that reaches childeren biology and cosmology.

My Velociraptor Ethereally Murdered Just Seven Unicorns Nearly Perfectly

Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto

1 Like

typo: “reaches” is “teaches”

You might find some ideas in the #memory-challenges section.

Some quick ideas:

2 Likes

Great ideas. Thank you! I recognize your username as the person that had great ideas on memorizing the Canadian provinces and capitals. So thank you for those too!

1 Like

Hi Julie,
How do you mean by “car memory palace” ? How do you use it?