Should/can I use menemonics for exams?

Hi! I am a 17 year old student who have read “Moonwalking with Einstein” by Joshue Four. The book really captured me by all the concept about memory techniques. So my questions is, is it wise to use those techniques for exams? (I am mainly studying science-subject so, Biology, Physics, Math and Chemistry and as well some languages, ex Spanish and more) Or would it be a “waste of time” to deep dive into learning all this techniques instead of actually studying more for the exams? No matter what, I will still dive deeper into this mnemonics world. I was just wondering if should mix this with my school subjects or not? :slight_smile:

My goal really is to study smarter and not harder, so would this really help me achieve that?
I as well want to compete in mnemonics (I know I have high goals, but I am really fascinated by this new world and would love to challenge my self with it!) But how am I supposed to train for the competitions? Does anyone have any guidance? I already have some books from Dominic O’brien, but if anyone has any more book tips, than I would really appreciate it.
(Sorry for my mes of structure…I am just have so many questions….)

2 Likes

As someone who started when I was your age, I would say yes. Using mnemonics in a real-life situation is a good training opportunity since you’re actually using mnemonics for something you would usually use them for in the first place.

As for training in competitions, you can make use of Memory League. Pretty much every memory athlete has used it at one point. Or you can use the Memoriad software.

Yes, thank you. I already new some answers to my questions, but just needed it conformation by someone who already is into the mnemonics community. Thanks! Just have to start practicing than~ :slight_smile:

1 Like

I hope you will do better in studying as well as in competition.