Sequence of my memory palace

I’m new to the loci technique and I’m constructing a memory palace in my office. So far I have 27 locations.

My question is should I assign sequence number to all these locations, and remember them? This seems tedious to me, but some people suggested it, I wonder why.

1 Like

@zzhou, welcome to the forum!

Your office palace has many parts to it in my opinion. There’s the background of your office of course. That’s what gives it and whatever you store inside it potential for creating memorable images.

The next part of the structure is the subjects, items, or locations you select which you could call keywords that lead you to whatever you store there. In your case, you want to identify locations so that you can visit each one of them in order. If you only cared about the stored image and its associated information, you wouldn’t need the palace.

The last main part of a scaffolding type structure that holds images to understand is the the way you get around in it among all those keywords. That’s the sequence or traversal method and can be a rule like a number as you mentioned, or it could be a narrative where one keyword image follows another for something you may do in your office regularly and know well. I often alphabetize my areas. Sometimes I use both to help reinforce my ability to remember it. Now you can go forwards and backwards in the images stored there.