Rote memorization: Kindly review my technique. Am I doing it right?

Although rote memorization is not a “technique” but I’d like some feedback for what I do.

Why I ask this question? Because I don’t trust my brain. I’ve never tested its capacity before. I don’t know how and how much my brain can retain. This is the first time (not literally the first, but in a way) that I’m studying for a life changing examination. I’ll trust my brain, my capability if I had studied earlier and knew what works and what doesn’t work for me. Since I didn’t do it, everything’s trial and error for me. So, I seek your feedback.

What I do, currently: I take a paragraph. First sentence. Read. I’m not native English speaker so I read it again and try to speak fluently the whole sentence in one go. Then I count on my fingers and repeat that sentence 5-6 times. Then I check whether I’ve learned it by repeating it “one final time”. If I succeed, I move on the next sentence. If I fail, I get frustrated and try again. Every time I count the repetitions on my fingers.

This method is extremely tiring. I’ve used it to cram a night before the exams. I only retained what I crammed for one day. Therefore, I’m skeptical if this method is the “right one” to build a long term memory? Also, with this method, I almost always either can’t recall perfectly, on the second day revision, or forget everything I’d memorized in 2-3 days. This is why I’m really worried!

Other method: I take an additional notebook. Keep it on my book. Hide the paragraph beneath it, reveal sentence after sentence, read it, repeat it. And keep escalating. Here I don’t use my fingers.