Remembering short lists long term?

I am fairly new to this, so forgive me if I am misunderstanding some things here and there. So far I’ve learned that you can use memory palaces to remember long lists, and I’ve also learned to remember single events using the Dominic system.

However, sometimes I need to remember short lists of three, for example, but I’m not sure how to go about that. It seems wasteful to use a memory palace here. yet at the same time it would be nice to have them linked together somehow. How do you guys handle this, usually? I should add that I am talking about lists and that I would like to commit to long-term memory, not shopping lists etc.

It’s stuff like: the three German emperors were: 1. 2. 3. … or '3 main reasons why Rome fell:" 1. 2. 3. …

The first example is chronological, so I could link them all together. In the second example (reasons why Rome fell) I am more reluctant to do this, since I wouldn’t want to go through all 3 items if I just want the 3rd.

Curious to hear what you have to say.

I use “Grid technique” for this kind of situation… Once encoded in a Grid, I can then access the items any way I want,chronologically or otherwise…Left to right, top to bottom, or randomly!!!

One challenge I see to having a lot of shorter lists like this is how to keep track of all of them. If you have 10 short lists of 3-5 items each, how do you store them all? My suggestion is… a memory palace specifically created for holding a variety of short, self-contained lists. Because of its special function, I’m thinking that maybe it doesn’t need to look like your other, typical palaces.