Reintroduction

I am a big fan of Dr Anthony Metivier’s Magnetic Memory Method; however, I have been using mnemonic techniques for a few years now partcularly the Major mnemonic method combined with simple memory cubes or places.

For massive amounts of memory tasks I use a public transit method combining memory cubes at street corners and bus and subway/metro stations.

I never run out of memory palaces. In fact I have too many!

:wink:

(Silvio B.) #2

If only I could say the same, haha :grin:

It is a common feeling SilvioB, because we are often plagued by two mindsets - a mindset of paucity where we feel that we must have a perfect “palace”. And a mindset of poverty or reductionisms, where we feel our places aren’t “good enough”. The trouble is in thinking that memory spaces are in fact “palaces”. They can be anything from granpa’s outhouse to your school bus to actual films or plays.

The reason we got the notion of palace in the first place is that it was a translation of θησαυρός, handed over to Cicero and his rhetorician friends and handed down to us.

θησαυρός means essentially storehose, and storehouses are to keep things. In this case, thesaurus comes down to us as memory palace in which we store mnemonic images.

But it can be pretty simple:

Start with your favourite room and make memory spots in each corner (corners can be spots 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9 in the middle of the room. In the ceiling I put 10, which transitions me to another cube (kind of like the Clue/Cludo game), which by the way can make an excellent memory palace!) The walls of the room are even numbers: 2, 4, 6, 8 (like I say 10 is a transition to the next cube).

If you have a high school or university, you have a plethora of memory cube locations. If you take a bus a train a bike or walk to and fro you have plenty of places for your memory cubes.