Quickly expanding 00-99 list to a 000-999 list with adjectives (assuming you don't have a 1000 system)

I have a Major system for 00-99, and I use it for pairs of digits like 8297 (a vine growing around a book) or 5873 (a lava game… hmm…), and when I need to memorize a 3-digit number that I don’t have handy, there’s a lone digit that doesn’t get accounted for.

In practice, many people use a raw 0-9 list for the missing digit, but often if the number is 3 digits long, I might incorporate that digit into my image, either by thinking up a number, like 420 is Uranus. But as a beginner, I don’t have the time to come up with and memorize 1000 images.

Instead, I will take the first digit and make it an adjective. I had images for 2, 3, and 4 which I use the most often, but I decided to extend it for the other digits. If I don’t have an image for a 3-digit number, this is my temporary solution until I can think of one.

0 - icy
1 - hot
2 - new
3 - my
4 - your
5 - ill/oily
6 - itchy/which (I look around and ask “which X?”)
7 - yucky
8 - heavy
9 - happy

So for memorizing 524, which I have no image of, I’ll think “oily honor”, which my image is of a Ph.D. stained with oil. Or for memorizing 928, I’ll think “happy nova”, which my image is of a star going supernova and laughing maniacally. Or for 754 - “yucky oiler”, I think of a monster eating one of the Edmonton Oilers (a hockey team), and think “ew”.

If anyone needs a temporary 000-999 system fast, maybe this will help. If you use something else, think of how you can apply the same theory there.

I like it. I have pretty much memorized a word for all 1000 digits but there are 16 that I often forget. I may either fill those in with your system or use your system to try to recall the 16 or so words that stump me from time to time. Thanks for sharing. u

@drsleep8 No prob. I’m debating on whether or not to switch to a true 1000 system or retain my current 100 system.

It comes handy a lot.

(Silvio B.) #5