Problem recalling the 'hook' of a loci

Hi All,

I’m currently studying for some professional Software exams where there are many subjects and many details to recall.

I’ve been using using my PAO system for important numbers, Imagery, acronyms, to memorize some parts, but what I don’t yet have is a way of easily recalling the information. It’s just floating.

I understand memory palaces can help for storing sequential related information but what about with non-sequential loosly related information?

If I start storing my thoughts in loci what do I use to get it back out again? Will I have to go through each loci and palace until I find the right loci?

I understand the storage side, it’s just the rapid recall of the specific loci/slot which I don’t understand.

I have a couple of extra questions…

I don’t know how much information I will be storing, and therefore it’s difficult to know the number of loci in advance. I’ve read that the order of loci should be fixed from the start, so how do I create these extra slots?

Also if I distribute the information in multiple memory palaces how do I know which memory palace to look in?

Final question. A lot of the subjects are related. It’s not a linear list of unrelated stuff. Therefore is there a need to have some sort of link between related loci, or will my brain do this itself?

Thanks all,
Phil

A memory palace is a structure composed of, let’s say, palaces, rooms, walls, and loci. The basic set up is sequential access: this locus, then the next, etc. But it’s possible to group your data by considering each level of the hierarchy a subgroup, so you can place everything for one subject in one palace, one part of that in a room or even a “wing” or region of the palace, and so on in detail.

The more closely related the data, the nearer you should place their loci, so one wall could cover what you need for one function, perhaps. It’s all about planning your structure.

This means you need two things: