Numeric and Alpha-numeric Drills - HELP!

(Amanda ) #1

Hello Everyone!

To preface: I am not very good with numbers, to begin with, and I have struggled with short-term memory my entire life. Despite this shortcoming, I have managed to get by relatively well – graduated with top marks from university, successful in work, etc.

In the last few years, however, I found myself becoming increasingly bored in my job and decided it was time to make a career change. Based on my degree in criminology and a general desire to help people I began researching potentially becoming a 9-1-1 call taker/dispatcher. In my country, this position is in high demand and comes with a pretty good salary and benefits.

So I enrolled in a college certificate program in emergency dispatching and graduated in the top of my class. I excelled at everything within the course, except for one thing, recalling alphanumeric sequences quickly…or, rather instantly.

I am not particularly concerned with this in terms of my overall ability to perform the job since in class we spent quite a bit of time taking mock emergency calls and I had very little difficulty being able to submit addresses, licence plate numbers, etc., as they were being given to me, because I could type them out as they were being communicated.

The issue I am having is, now that I have graduated and want to apply for jobs, I know that I will have to pass an aptitude test that will measure my short term memory of both numeric and alphanumeric sequences. During the test, random sequences are given such as 74J9BL0F and you are not able to type them back until the entire sequence has been read.

During school, we were able to type these sequences as they were being read, which wasn’t a problem. But now that I am practising to write the test in order to be eligible for an interview, I am freaking out a little bit because I am having tremendous difficulty recalling these sequences after they have been read in competition.