Newbie in search of proper technique to memorize discrete chunks of complex information

(Peem Ster) #1

Hey folks!

I’m new to all this, but am basically familiar with linked lists and the concepts of memory palaces and menmonics - so not much experience.

I want to dive in, and I have a particular memory project I want to focus on. However, I’m not sure what technique or set of techniques I should be looking at. I know people talk about memory palaces a lot, but they seem to be for sequences of relatively simple information (i.e., what suit and number is this card?). I’m seeking to memorize complex chunks of information all wrapped up into discrete units.

These units are statistics and abilities for game pieces. For example, here is one of the more complex units (most only have two cards; this one has four). I want to be able to call up all the information on the cards when I hear or think of the name of the card.

As you can see, there’s a lot of different types of information under one name heading - we have numbers, ability names, ability descriptions, etc.

If anyone can point me in the right direction of what techniques to look at and how to approach them, I’d really appreciate it!

(selmo'i cu se nintadni) #2

Do you have a higher quality scan of that? Or a transcript of the text?

(Peem Ster) #3

Let me see if this works…

(selmo'i cu se nintadni) #4

How many of these are you trying to commit to memory? And are the keywords like “Alchemical Mask” or “Decrepitation” or “Revive” things which repeat on many different cards (so their definitions don’t have to be memorized for each individual card, just which ones apply), or unique to “Aurum Adeptus Syvestro”?

(Peem Ster) #5

The Bolded ability names do repeat (not all of them, but many). The spells are also shared across all cards, with occasional unique ones.