New to memory training help

I am new to memory and would like to know what technique I should start with learning. I was thinking of learning memory palaces. Is there some other technique I should start with first?

The short answer: Yes. Starting with a memory palace is like learning to swim by jumping off Victoria Falls. To get the most out of using a memory palace, you’ll want to be comfortable with a number of other techniques first. After all, what are you actually storing in this memory palace? You need to start by learning how to create memorable images associated with the information you’re wanting to learn.

I would recommend, first, that you read the PDF guide available through the “Resources” tab here. No matter how much it gets mentioned, it still tends to get overlooked or brushed aside, and it really is a terrific introduction to memory techniques.

My personal recommendation—and others here may disagree with this approach—is that you start by learning the Linking method. It’s the most basic way of chaining information together in a memorable way. Plus, I think the process of creatively and imaginatively linking items together is going to be an important skill to learn, since it’s going to play a part in every other memory technique that will come after.

You could move to memory palaces once you’ve learned the Linking method; you’d have a handle on the most fundamental, basic skill. But note that you won’t be prepared to remember anything involving numbers (dates, sizes, equations, etc.) with just this approach. And there’s so much more that could really strengthen the efficacy of a memory palace.

Bob

6 Likes

Thank you for your advice.

Bill

Check out the free ebook and the resources on the how to learn memory techniques page. The ebook starts out with the linking technique that RMBittner mentioned and goes on the memory palaces/journeys after that. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you

Bill