New Member: thememorynoob - UK

Tell us about yourself - Hello there, thanks for reading…as you can tell from the user name, I’m new to the whole memory improvement forum thing, but ive been aware of Memory techniques for about 20 years now. I’m in my 40’s and live in the UK all my life.

How did you find about memory techniques? - About 20 years ago when going to college I wanted to try and “get an edge”, as I was not the smartest and struggled to efficiently take in all the information. (At least that’s how it felt while studying) by chance I found out about Mind Maps and the like, which led onto memory experts etc etc and my interest when from there.

What did you like about them most? – What amazed me was that it seemed that these guys almost had a “superhuman skill” that anyone could do, I wanted that for myself, as id never really been a guy that had achieved anything much in life that extraordinary…been pretty much of an underachiever that always gave up early.

What is your current best memory feat? Nothing special to be honest - can use the Memory Peg system to get 10 items of shopping in my head (zero – hero, one – ton, two – shoe etc etc) Pretty basic but I can manage it, felt amazing when it worked!!! So want to learn more and get better at it and other systems…and this time actually stick with it!!!

What’s currently your biggest challenge when it comes to getting the memory you want? – finding names of people for the Dominic System ESPECIALLY the words under letter O. Also not being stuck by ”analysis paralysis”, and the dreaded “f##karounditis (sadly I’ve suffered from that my entire adult life lol :grinning:)