New Member: sboag, 55y, Boston, Irish Trad Musician

I’m a software engineer, and have a varied background. I’ve been playing the Irish flute for about 12 years. Though I took some piano lessons when I was young, and fiddled with the guitar, banjo, and silver flute as a teenager, I didn’t get serious about music until an older adult, and certainly didn’t know anything about Irish Tradtional Music (ITM). Learning music as an older adult is different than learning as youngster, that’s for sure. I was never good at memory, and never really thought it important, to tell you the truth. I was raised in the age of “you don’t have to remember facts and dates, just learn the concepts!”.

Irish music session generally occur in pubs, or for dances. Written music is very much frowned upon, and tunes are usually learned by ear. Tunes (called “tunes” and not “songs”) breed and evolve through the community, and have histories of being written recently to being hundreds of years old. Most tunes are fairly simple, divided into 16 measures of AABB, and categorized as jigs, reels, polkas, etc. There are thousands upon thousands of tunes. As a ITM musician, you have to hold a rich repertoire in your head in order to play in sessions. It’s a challenge. Tunes are played in sets, and you have to quickly be able to play one tune, think of another, and move to that tune, rather spontantiously. And the tunes are structurally often similar, so memory confusion is quite the factor. Over the years I’ve become frustrated going through a bunch of work learning tunes, and then loosing them because I don’t get to play them often enough. And struggle with even remembering the tags (tune names) of what I know, so I find the tunes, so to speak.