New member- Sachin, India

Hey everyone! I’m Sachin. I am a doctor currently studying for an entrance exam in India. I stumbled across the memory methods in my first year of medical college when I saw the TED talk by Joshua Foer while the professor was boring us in the lecture hall (or so it seemed to me, or most of the students I guess). That led to me reading his book ‘Moonwalking with Einstein’ and further readings of authors like Harry Lorayne. But my interest faded as quickly as it rose when I thought that these techniques are of no use to me since I am not going to memorize any grocery lists. Of course the lack of guidance, as to how the very same methods could be used to memorize the entire course of the semester and most importantly the drive to improve, to try out something new, was wanting and thus the methods lay dismissed and unused for the better part of my college life.

Fast forward 5 years and the trauma of the sheer amount of knowledge, that had to internalized for the exam that I have to appear in, was only matched by the frustration of forgetting something that I had completely understood and yet failed to reproduce when needed in the tests. I asked my seniors for guidance as to how this could be improved, as to how I could remember the information, even though I have been at the same for more than 6-7 times of revision and the only response I got was try harder. I meant what?! And ultimately I could not live with my failures and where did that bring me? (LOL)