New Member: MBDextrus, Germany

A friendly hello to all forum users. I’ve been lurking around this forum for some time now and have now decided to become a member.

I am in my fifties, work in the financial industry, and have recently re-discovered the art of memory when I started learning French (again) and reading a book on French learning by Anthony Metivier.

This is not my first encounter with mnemonics and memory techniques. Many moons ago, I was nearing my final exams in university (business administration) and i was desperate to find a new method for getting the learning material into my head. In the nick of time, I found a book by Tony Buzan which was not only fascinating, but also turned out to be my life saver (not literally, of course). Unfortunately, I did not get too much time to spend with the bood, but with what I learned there, I was able to memorize enough to learn most of what I needed in one course. This is one of my fondest memories about using mnemonics.

Recent successes include: Learning the lyrics of five songs in the matter of just around five weeks and learning about 100 French vocabularies in 20 days. Not to mention quite a few shopping and “to do” lists.

My goal is to become better at applying memory techniques. I am particularly intrigued by the memory palaces. I used them for every song I learned, but somehow every approach I took was different. This tells me, I still have some ways to go, before feeling 100% comfortable with them. I also have questions about the memory palace that I still havent found a satisfactory answer for.

Thanks for having me here, I look forward to reading and participating in the forum.

MBDextrus

5 Likes

Welcome to the site! :slight_smile:

Thanks Josh!

Welcome to the forum.

What are your memory palace questions?