New member: Luca, Germany

Hey, I am a 10th grade student looking forward to learning memory techniques for the following situations:

• Mostly useless stuff like memorizing x digits of pi or something like that. I basically just want to learn how it works because I think it is fascinating that it works
  • Eventually school stuff like formulas or constants although I have never had a problem with memorizing stuff like this before.
  • Everyday problems like remembering phone numbers or shopping lists

I have read through a fair amount of wiki articles and of course the introductory pdf and I must say I am really surprised by how simple the techniques are to understand. I just don’t know exactly which of the dozens of systems to use yet and I hope maybe you can help me a bit with that by answering some questions.

For alphabet peg lists I chose the letter shape method and modified the example from the wiki a bit to my needs. I chose this because it seems the most convenient for me.
But when it comes to number systems I am really struggling. Nothing seems to be the perfect solution in my eyes. I don’t really like the major system as I am not a native speaker and would thus prefer a system where I do not need to know that many English words in order to find mnemonics. The dominic system does look counterintuitive to me and I also don’t know if I can come up with a 100 persons. The option that I thought would be the best for me is again a shape system as discussed in this thread. But since I am planning to use the PAO technique I think it would be a ton of work to make it compatible. Erols shaper system has already some actions in it (e.g. man pushing wheelchair) so this doesn’t look like it will work as it is.
Have you got any ideas what else I could use to memorize two digit numbers? Or is it just that I misunderstood anything and it will all work out?
Thank you for reading and letting me be a part of this awesome community!

2 Likes