New member: Fabien from Zurich, Switzerland

Hi,

I’m a 43yo mechanical engineer originally from France. It’s nice to join, as I am new to memory techniques and enjoyed reading ther ebook, learning about the major system and the rhymes for example.
I am joining because I would like to improve my memory in general. While taking some memory tests, I figured I have a lot of room for improvement!

2 tests in particular are challenging to me at the moment:

Spoken digits lists
The test consists in a list of random spoken one digit numbers. Once the speaker is done reading through the list at rate greater than 1 digit per second, I need to repeat as many digits as I can remember, starting from the last one in reverse order. Then it’s on to the next random list for a total of 30 lists to listen to and repeat in reverse order.
The challenge is that the list can be quite long e.g. 20 digits, with random length and of course digit sequence.
The techniques I have been using are:

• trying to visualise the digits on a keyboard numerical keypad
  • remembering series of three digits. Usually I can only remember the last two series before ‘erasing the older one’
    My score is stuck at about 5 last digits and I would like to improve.

2 numbers-shape association
My second challenge consists in memorising two digits numbers associated with either a geometrical shape or a two letters code.
e.g. red triangle 44; ZD 38; green disc 57; blue square 21, WT 11.
I have 25 seconds to memorise 4 pairs and then once presented with previous shape or two letters code I need to provide the associated number.
I came up with a mixed method consisting in
-images associated to the two letter codes–i don’t think i need to make images to replace the shapes since they are already quite visual